Skip to content


Giving Societies

Giving Recognition Societies

The giving societies at Mount Vernon Nazarene University honor and reflect the tradition of alumni, friends, and organizations that generously provide private support continuing to confirm the institutional mission. The legacy of giving began almost 50 years ago when the rolling farmland was purchased for the purpose of expanding Church of the Nazarene institutions of higher education. Equipping graduates for a lifetime of meaningful service in their families, churches, and communities remains an important distinctive in the Church of the Nazarene.

Many have faithfully supported MVNU through gifts of cash, real estate, gifts-in-kind, matching gifts, securities and with planned gifts through wills, trusts, or other estate planning. With gratitude the institution recognizes donors in annual giving and lifetime giving societies.

President’s Circle - Honors those individuals who have given gifts of $1,000 or more during our current or prior fiscal year (July 1 – June 30). Names to be added monthly.
Steven W Nease Society – Honors those who have a fully funded endowment which creates permanent ongoing scholarships.
Heritage Society - Honors those individuals who have generously made a future commitment to MVNU through a bequest or other planned gift.
1968 Society - The 1968 Society honors the cumulative generosity of those who have generously given $1 million or more to MVNU in lifetime giving.


Lakeholm Society - Named after the original Columbus Delano Lakeholm property purchased for the Church of the Nazarene to establish a college in Mount Vernon, the Lakeholm Society recognizes lifetime giving of $100,000 to $999,999.


Pioneer Society - “Lifetime Giving Societies” Partnership levels in the Pioneer Society are named in honor of our longest serving pioneer faculty celebrating the cumulative 119 years of sharing their gifts and resources to advance the mission and vision of MVNU.


Gift Range:

  • $5,000- $19,999 | Named for: Mr. Richard R. Fairchild, Professor of Biology
  • $20,000- $49,999 | Named for: Rev. William R. Bennett, Sr., Registrar and Director of Admissions
  • $50,000- $74,999 | Named for: Dr. Charles R. McCall, Professor of Bible and Greek
  • $75,000- $100,000 | Named for: Dr. Judith W. Chesnut Ruiz, Professor of Spanish


Founders’ Society - Consecutive Giving Societies Partnership levels in the Founders’ Society are named in honor of our presidents who served between 1972 - 2007 celebrating their contributions and service to advance the mission and vision of MVNU.
    • Dr. John A. Knight, 1972-75
      Knight Partner
      - Annual recognition of those giving 3 – 4 consecutive years.
    • Dr. L. Guy Nees, 1975-80
      Nees Partner
      - Annual recognition of those giving 5-9 consecutive years.
    • Dr. William J. Prince, 1980-89
      Prince Partner - Annual recognition of those giving 10-19 consecutive years.
    • Dr. E. LeBron Fairbanks, 1989-2007
      Fairbanks Partner 
      - Annual recognition of those giving 20 or more consecutive years.

Lifetime Cumulative Giving Societies

Lifetime Consecutive Giving Societies

(H) indicates honorary alumni
(*) indicates honorary degree
(†) indicates deceased

More Information

Development Office
1-800-367-9294, option 2

Site Designed and Developed by 5by5 - A Change Agency